Soil and Soul

Who am I that You should die for me?

I Am the Lover. You are Beloved.

I made you by My choice. I crafted you from clay, to be My Bride. I breathed My Spirit in you. I long to dance with you, to embrace you, to infuse My grace into you so that I can live in you and love in you.

Created from physical matter, a spiritual life within. Ruach, the breath of God, in a clay vessel. On the seventh Day, whatever span of time is meant by that, whether at a point on a continuum of an evolving creation, or a whole new thing, God breathed Ruach into the human form.

The Spirit of God in human bodies, made of  humus, earth, adama: Adam.  The other animals were of the earth too, but they were not named Man, Adam, earthen. Why is this creature different from all other creatures?  There is something special about ‘humans’ that is more than our earthen nature – something supernatural,  essential to our identity. Why should we be named and distinguished from other creatures by a characteristic that is shared by other creatures? ‘Human’ – of the earth – distinguishes us rather from other spiritual beings, from angels.

We have a spiritual identity which is distinct from other animals. Our true nature reflects the image of God, flowering in the ability to freely choose to love, altruistically;  by our free will, not just instinct. We can know God, the One Who Loves, the One Who Is, You Who Are. We can imitate God in our love and forgiveness of one another, allowing God to love through us, allowing Love to be in us. We can have a personal relationship with God; God who came to us in Person.

Why did Jesus refer to Himself as the Son of Man? Other people are children of men, but we don’t all title ourselves as such, as if it was distinctive.  Why is this man different from all other men? There is something special about Jesus that is more than His human nature, something supernatural, essential to His identity.

“Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death—even death on a cross!”

(Philippians 2:5-8)

Jesus must have been conscious of His Divinity, pre-existing before His incarnation.
“And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.” (John 17:5) For Him, being born human is distinctive in a way that it is not for the rest of us. Heaven came to earth in Him. Jesus is eternal and the Son of God, uniquely –  though in a way in which we can, united with Him, participate as children of God; because as God made man, He identified with us.  In the crucifixion He absorbed the hate and inhumanity of man to man, and forgave. He rescued us – in so far as we are willing – in one great ark of mercy and grace,  from our bondage to selfishness and to decay. He told His followers to love one another, to forgive, to love our enemies, to carry our cross after Him, to serve. He came to restore the likeness of God in humanity, and so that we may rise again with Him to eternal life.

“For the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  (Matthew 20v28)

Did you die for me, did you give your life for me?

Did you bear the pain for me?

Did you did you die for me?

O Lord my God, why did you sacrifice for me

Everything that you could give, so that I could live?

Did you think of me, on the cross,

Did you think of me? On the way to Calvary,

Did you did you think of me?

Who am I, a sinner?

Why did you care so much for me?

Why did you try so hard, why did you die for me?

Did you die for me? Did you give your life for me?

Did you bear the pain for me?

Did you did you die for me?

Did You Die For Me

You Are Risen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

