Lent and Love

There is a spiritual reality, but we need to tune our minds into it. It’s like tuning in a radio. And there are all sorts of programmes ‘out there’… some truthful, some misleading, some edifying, some degrading, some unifying, some dividing. How do we discern truth? “Truth, what is that?”

Calming our minds and turning to prayer, we can begin to experience growth in the sense of our connection with one another. In the spiritual reality, we are profoundly connected, more than we know. We are all children of the same Divine Father. Jesus, the Divine Son, is the personification of our unity. That is why we need to love Him, and love one another as ourselves. Whatever we do to each other, we do to Him, and to ourselves. That is why we are commanded to Love one another. It is the order of a parent yearning for his children to experience how loved they are and not to harm one another. We are His hands, His feet, His body. Altruism is enlightened self-interest.

There are different languages of love, as Dr Gary Chapman teaches us, and there are different ways of drawing closer to the source of Love.  The Source of Love is waiting for our time, our thanks, our readiness to receive the gifts He wants to give us, and our sharing of those gifts with others. How do we deepen our relationship with one another? How do we get to know one another better and build bridges? With keeping company, with talking, with listening, with sharing stories and common concerns, with exchanging gifts, with helping one another, with making sacrifices for one another, with touch.

When we do these things for one another in a spirit of giving, we are in a sense doing it for our Divine Parent, who calls us to love one another. But we also need to draw from the Source of Love and deepen our relationship with the One who made us out of love, and longs for us to know we are loved. That means encountering Him. That means making room in some way in our lives, perhaps by sacrificing something else that is taking up the space.

When we ‘give up something for Lent’, it leaves a space in us; and nature, and super-nature, abhors a vacuum. It may be time which we give to prayer, spiritual reading and service instead of TV; it may be food, drink or money which we give instead to those who need it more; or it may be some other comfort, which we may ‘offer up’ to identify with Christ’s own self-offering and create a space for His grace available to us and others:  the love and mercy poured out from His self-sacrifice. It is in giving that we receive.

We are hard-wired spiritually to love one another, and many faith traditions have accessed this wisdom. In fact Darwin came to understand that altruism is a source of happiness, if not the deeper revelation that we find a yet more profound joy and fulfillment in relationship that satisfies our inner spirit: with our loving Creator; and the love He showed for us in a Person who made the ultimate sacrificial gift of His life, that we may ultimately rise with Him to a new life where Love reigns unending.

A Love poem from God to you…

You will never know how much I love you;
Sometimes I’ve got to let it show;
When you’ve forgotten that you are loved,
I will let it flow:
I will mainline my love to your heart,
mind, body and soul;
Through the dark, through the pain,
Through the cloud and the rain,
I will break through it all.

Let me hold you in my arms.
Come close, I’ll keep you safe from harm;
When you are feeling empty and cold,
I will keep you warm:
I will mainline my love to your heart,
mind, body and soul;
Through my life, through my death,
through my rising again,
I will break through it all.

I will mainline my love to your heart,
mind, body and soul;
Through the dark, through the pain,
Through the cloud and the rain,
I will break through it all.
When you drink from the wells of the world
And it leaves a hole in your soul,
Come to me for the only love
that will make you whole.

I’ll mainline my love to your heart,
mind, body and soul;
Through the dark, through the pain,
Through the cloud and the rain,
I will break through it all.
I will mainline my love to your heart,
mind, body and soul;
Through my life, through my death,
through my rising again,
I will break through it all.

I will mainline my love
I will break through it all
I will mainline my love
I will break through it all

And another…

There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you

I want to be the music that you listen to when you’re alone
I want to be someone you care about, I want to be your song
And I will wait through the radio silence when you’ve got things going on
But I’ll be with you; you are in my heart; we’re one.

There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you

And when you think about me I’ll be sending my love back to you;
Love that has set you free so you can be the love that you want to.
So don’t be hurt by the radio silence when you don’t know what’s going on;
I am with you; I am in your heart; we’re one.

Someone loving you
Someone loving you
Someone loving you
Someone loving you

I know you know love hurts
You know I know it too
I hope you know you’re worth
The sacrifice for you

Someone loving you
Someone loving you
Someone loving you
Someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you
There will be someone loving you

C. Allsop ©2015

And another… Any Sacrifice

A song for the start of the Lenten season…Here I am before You

God bless.

crossheart

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

