Phlare meets Torch

We would like to say a big thank you to the lovely Torch Trust group we sang with today. Thank you for your welcome and participation and encouragement. Thank you for the privileged opportunity to share some of our music and its meaning for us. Here are a few thoughts on the songs, the lyrics and links. If you missed it read on…God bless you!

Veni Sancte Spiritus

Holy Spirit, come and speak in our hearts. Veni, Sancte Spiritus. Come, Holy Spirit.
“Veni, Veni Sancte Spiritus …
We open wide our hearts to receive you;
We give our lives to you, Lord.
You know our longing; to You we surrender;
Come O Holy Spirit!
Veni, Veni Sancte Spiritus …
We long to know the strength of your power;
We call to you in our pain.
Your works of goodness are our source of healing;
Come O Holy Spirit!
Veni, Veni Sancte Spiritus …
Be with us now and make us a channel;
May we be filled with your love.
That we may witness to those all around us;
Come O Holy Spirit!”

 

From Darkness to light

A song written for the time of Advent, when we are preparing to celebrate the birth of Jesus. Why sing this ‘out of season’ ? Because it’s always appropriate to welcome the Holy One into our hearts anew, perhaps into an area of our hearts which has been in the shadows. Perhaps He wants to shed His light and love into a new area of our being. Perhaps he wants to heal a memory, or give us His perspective on something or someone. So let’s ask Him now to come anew into our hearts. Come Lord Jesus. Let your will be done in us, as in Heaven. Let the light of grace enlighten our hearts, minds and souls, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

Walk upon the water

In difficult times our faith can be tested, but these times can be spiritually rich because in those times we rely on Jesus. He called Peter to get out of the boat and trust in Him above the forces of nature. We are called to rely on him in the face of all trials and troubles, and He will uphold us.
Jesus, we trust in you.

“Come with me, take my hand, you can walk upon the water.
If you trust in my love, I will lead you through the storm.
Never forget I go before you; I will show the way,
And though the waves surround you I will lead you to the shore.
Why do you fear? There’s so much I long to give you.
Just step out of the boat, don’t be afraid now.
Wonders will unfold; this new life is just beginning.
Great plans I have for you; don’t you look back now.
Be not afraid, you need only let me guide you;
My love lighting your way, I will be with you.
Stay by my side through the night and in the day time,
Your doubts fading a way I will sustain you.
Come test the waters I’ll be there at your side; I will provide for all your needs.
In every situation I’ll be your guide; step forth and give your life to me.”

Listen to a clip

Come, My Children

The Father longs to receive us and welcome us into His love, His peace and joy, His family… He even sent His only begotten Son to be one of us: our Maker’s presence, manifest in our midst, to hold out His hand to us and take us home to Him. May we take His hand and receive God in our hearts.
“Come, My children, Your Father I am; I’ve been waiting to welcome you home.
For so long I’ve loved you all along, and I’m waiting now, so come.
And I welcome you into my heart, and I welcome you into my arms,
And I’m calling you to come home again; my child, I want you to know
My love for you.
You’ve been crying, and I know your tears; I’ve been sighing for you all these years;
Let me hold you, let me take your hand, let me show I understand.
And I welcome you into my heart, and I welcome you into my arms,
And I’m calling you to come home again; my child, I want you to know
My love for you.
Don’t be worried, whatever you’ve done, for I will forgive you, I gave you my Son.
Now the gates of heaven are open wide, and I’m calling you inside.
And I welcome you into my heart, and I welcome you into my arms,
And I’m calling you to come home again; my child, I want you to know
My love for you.
My child, I want you to know My love for you.”

Listen to a clip

This entry was posted in Music ministry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

